Wednesday, February 21, 2018

WoW #189: Bright Burns the Night (Dark Breaks the Dawn #2) by Sara B. Larson


Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about! 


Bright Burns the Night by Sara B. LarsonBright Burns the Night
(Dark Breaks the Dawn #2)
by Sara B. Larson
May 29, 2018
320 pages


Goodreads Summary:
Ten years ago, King Lorcan of the Dark Kingdom Dorjhalon defeated Queen Evelayn and cut her conduit stone from her. Since then, he has kept her trapped in her swan form. With the loss of balance between Dark and Light, winter has descended and the Draíolon of Éadrolan lose more power every day. But once a year, Lorcan transforms her back to her Draíolon form and offers a truce. And every year Evelayn refuses -- for he requires her to Bind herself to him for life.

But now, with an Ancient power bearing down upon them, everything may change. Evelayn will learn that the truths she once believed have shattered, and that she may need her enemies even more than her allies. Lorcan and Evelayn become partners in a desperate quest to return the balance of power to Lachalonia. How far will this partnership go? Can friendship -- perhaps even love -- bloom where hatred has taken root?


Sara B. Larson delivers a thrillingly romantic and hauntingly satisfying end to this extraordinary duology.

 
So I didn't love the first book but I liked it (read my review here) and after reading the above synopsis, I knew I had to see to the end of Evelayn and Lorcan's story!

What are you guys waiting on this week?

Monday, February 19, 2018

Review: Dreaming in Chocolate by Susan Bishop Crispell


Dreaming in Chocolate by Susan Bishop CrispellDreaming in Chocolate
by Susan Bishop Crispell
February 6, 2018
288 pages


Goodreads Summary:
A story of love, hot chocolate, and one little girl's wish for her mother that will make your heart swell.

At twenty-seven, Penelope Dalton is quickly ticking off items on a bucket list. Only the list isn’t hers. After her eight year-old daughter Ella is given just six months to live thanks to an inoperable brain tumor, Penelope is determined to fill Ella’s remaining days with as many new experiences as she can.

With an endless supply of magical gifts and recipes from the hot chocolate café Penelope runs alongside her mother in a small town nestled in the Appalachian Mountains, she is able to give her daughter almost everything she wants. The one sticking point is Ella’s latest addition to her list: get a dad. And not just any dad. Ella has her sights set on Noah Gregory, her biological father and the only person Penelope knows to have proved her true love hot chocolate wrong.

Now Noah’s back in town for a few months—and as charming as ever—and the part of her that dreamed he was her fate in the first place wonders if she made the right decision to keep the truth of their daughter from him. The other, more practical part, is determined to keep him from breaking Ella’s heart too.

But as Ella’s health declines, Penelope must give in to her fate or face a future of regrets.
 

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Stacking the Shelves #181


Stacking the Shelves button

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews that lets us share what we've added to our shelves.


Catching up on some bookmail from last week! Raincoast Books was kind enough to send me two graphic novels to try out. I loved The Prince and the Dressmaker :D Then Indigo Teen sent me their Indigo Staff Pick of the Month: The Hazel Wood. I've heard such great things about it, definitely go check it out!

Pickles with Speak, The Prince and the Dressmaker and The Hazel Wood.
 
What did you add to your shelves this week?

Friday, February 16, 2018

Review: 180 Seconds by Jessica Park


180 Seconds by Jessica Park
180 Seconds
by Jessica Park
April 25, 2017
300 pages

Goodreads     Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Some people live their entire lives without changing their perspective. For Allison Dennis, all it takes is 180 seconds…

After a life spent bouncing from one foster home to the next, Allison is determined to keep others at arm’s length. Adopted at sixteen, she knows better than to believe in the permanence of anything. But as she begins her third year in college, she finds it increasingly difficult to disappear into the white noise pouring from her earbuds.

One unsuspecting afternoon, Allison is roped into a social experiment just off campus. Suddenly, she finds herself in front of a crowd, forced to interact with a complete stranger for 180 seconds. Neither she, nor Esben Baylor, the dreamy social media star seated opposite her, is prepared for the outcome.

When time is called, the intensity of the experience overwhelms Allison and Esben in a way that unnerves and electrifies them both. With a push from her oldest friend, Allison embarks on a journey to find out if what she and Esben shared is the real thing—and if she can finally trust in herself, in others, and in love.
 

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

WoW #188: An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason by Virginia Boecker


 
Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about! 


An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason by Virginia BoeckerAn Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
by Virginia Boecker
September 1, 2018
 pages

Goodreads      Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Philippa Gregory meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this witty and thrilling action-adventure novel of star-crossed assassins in Elizabethan England. Perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.

When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally practicing Catholic, she discovers treason wasn't the only secret he's been hiding: he was also involved in a murder plot against the reigning Queen Elizabeth I. With nothing left to lose, Katherine disguises herself as a boy and travels to London to fulfill her father's mission, and to take it one step further--kill the queen herself.

Katherine's opportunity comes in the form of William Shakespeare's newest play, which is to be performed in front of Her Majesty. But what she doesn't know is that the play is not just a play--it's a plot to root out insurrectionists and destroy the rebellion once and for all.

The mastermind behind this ruse is Toby Ellis, a young spy for the queen with secrets of his own. When Toby and Katherine are cast opposite each other as the play's leads, they find themselves inexplicably drawn to one another. But the closer they grow, the more precarious their positions become. And soon they learn that star-crossed love, mistaken identity, and betrayal are far more dangerous off the stage than on.
 
I have been waiting for more from Virginia Boecker ever since her Witch Hunter duology ended. FINALLY! Yesssssss! (I'm not particularly fond of the cover but it definitely has a Shakespeare-y feel to it.)

What are you guys waiting on this week?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...