Monday, November 23, 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas


*This review contains spoilers. It was hard to get my thoughts down without mentioning spoilers so you have been warned. :D

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses
(A Court of Thorns and Roses #1)
by Sarah J. Maas
May 5, 2015
416 pages


Goodreads Summary:
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!


 
Review

I have been sitting on this review for the longest time because I don't know how to put my thoughts into words. I loved and didn't love this book. A Court of thorns and Roses encompassed everything I adore about fantasy. It was just somehow missing that wow factor for me. Regardless, Sarah J. Maas masterfully brings to life two vivid worlds with powerful characters and a heart-gripping story with crafty twists.

To say everything was planned from the beginning would be an understatement. The story moved along at a steady luring pace pulling us deeper into the Faerie world with all its secrets. Every step of the way was beautifully paved by Ms. Maas. She reveals just enough to keep us hooked. We're led on a whirlwind of speculations until those very last moments revealed all the truths and deceits.

Faeries are such powerful, destructive beings. They seem beautiful and regal yet when they strike, they're lethal and a menace. It was absolutely a thrill to take in Ms. Maas's interpretation of the Fae. She knocks away our previous notion of them and builds up a whole other realm. It's positively eye-opening.

Feyre was everything I'd associate with a female huntress. She's tough, resolute and cautious with humility and compassion.
The faeries should not have underestimated her. No one can rival her resilience. She's had a rough life caring for her father and sisters who don't quite show their appreciation. Originally, being taken to Prythia was a nightmare for her but the place turns out to actually be a haven with love and unexpected friends. Then s**t went down but her quick mind and determination helped her blaze through those horrendous trials. She's a force to be reckoned with!

Tamlin was aloof and guarded but genuine when not restricted by the "sickness". He definitely felt more than he let on but it was dangerous to let it show. I wasn't impressed with his indifference during Feyre's trials. I understood that for him to betray any emotions or have any reactions towards her would play right into Amarantha's hand but he was just way too cool. He seems to be the source of every problem and pain (Amarantha wanted him but he rejected her so she punished his people. Feyre loved him and wanted to set him free so hell is unleashed upon her by Amarantha.). Is he worth all this?

Feyre and Tamlin's chemistry was off the charts! Their romance developed achingly slow and sweet. They were like an atomic bomb waiting to go off. When it finally detonated, all the build-up was so worth it. During Fire Night and the Great Rite, the sexual tension was overwhelmingly intense. That hallway encounter... *fans self*.

Rhysand was a tricky character to get a read on. He's intelligent, calculating, cunning and obviously handsome. What did he see right before he vanished in front of Feyre? Crazy theory time! I have the wild instinct that maybe Amarantha is still alive. Alive in Feyre. Maybe when the High Lords turned Feyre into a High Fae, Amarantha's lingering soul latched onto her? I
would hate for that to happen but it just seems so possible. Or I'm just pure crazy so ignore me lol. Crazy theory ends.

While the story wrapped up nicely, no cliffhanger ending, I'm dying to know what Rhysand saw (yes, I know I already said it once but I'm just too curious.). Now that Feyre has rid Prythian of Amarantha aka the disease, will the world return to its former glory? And what sort of threat will Prythian be facing from Hybern?
There's still much to be explored and told in the world of A Court of Thorns and Roses. I'm already shivering from excitement!

I'm glad I didn't wait too long to read this one. Needless to say, I cannot wait to see what awaits us in A Court of Mist and Fury. I have no doubt it'll be terrifying and thrilling.

5 Cats

12 comments:

  1. Five stars, woo hoo! Glad you loved this, makes me excited to start it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm very curious to see what you think! READ IT NOW! ;)

      Delete
  2. I'm so glad you loved this book!! I read it back in May and I'm honestly planning to re-read it before the second one is released and I don't usually do re-reads! I did like that the ending wasn't a total cliffhanger, but I'm still DYING for book two!

    Tracy @ Cornerfolds

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! I'm always thankful when we don't get left dangling with no resolution. So happy! I hope you'll enjoy your re-read Tracy~

      Delete
  3. I adored this book - glad you did too! It was my first Maas book and I loved it and I'm excited to read her Throne of Glass series. Tamlin was just...ahhh *drools* haha! Wonderful review! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm definitely Team Tamlin too ;) You're going to love her ToG series. I've been a little behind on that series but hoping to catch up (to the heartbreak) soon, lol jk!

      Delete
  4. I haven't got around to this one yet... I'm a huge Throne of Glass fan though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you love her ToG series then you must try ACOTAR! It's a bit more mature for sure though :)

      Delete
  5. I have had the first three Throne of Glass books on my Kindle forever and just can never find the time to read anything from my second tier of my TBR. That was why I was interested in reading this Maas story because when I thought it was a standalone, but soon after I found out that it was not. Someday I will find the time to read some of Sarah's books. Maybe one day she will write a standalone I can whittle away some time for. Wonderful review, Eileen. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aww you're missing out! I definitely understand you though! It's hard to keep up with it all and sometimes I just wish there are only ever standalones books lol Thanks La <3

      Delete
  6. I gave it 4 stars because although I loved the romance once it bloomed, the whole sickness and transitions felt like I had missed something. Still, I really loved the book and I cannot wait for book 2!!!
    And I adoooore Tamlin! Rhysand seems too unreliable for me too root for him as a love interest!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I actually had the same feeling but I couldn't stop reading it so I gave it 5 cats :) I agree about Rhysand. So hard to see where things are with him and I don't really like that.

      Delete

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my posts! I read each and every comment I get and will reply as soon as I can :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...