Thursday, July 7, 2016

Review: This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab


This Savage Song by Victoria SchwabThis Savage Song
(Monsters of Verity #1)
by Victoria Schwab
July 5, 2016
464 pages


Goodreads Summary:
There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.


 
Review

For any of you that don't know, I am a huge Victoria Schwab fan. I am head over heels in love with her Shades of Magic series and am still waiting for the third book in her The Archived series *taps foot patiently*. This Savage Song is yet another masterpiece from her.

This Savage Song is a dark beauty. The story was chilly and gritty brimming with emotions. Each character was haunting and gripping in their own way. I plunged completely into the world while I read. Ms. Schwab conveys all the feels with her writing.

Kate and August are both tortured souls. One fighting to be tough, the other battling within to stay sane. They struggled for acceptance. No amount of safety and/or protection helped. They wanted to find their own identities. Circumstances led them to depend on each other but on instinct they were cautious of one another. I love the genuine care they develop while in each other's company. It set the tone of their relationship and I am eager to see if it'll remain platonic or become something more. Though I have no doubt that when they reunite in the sequel, they will ignite some flames (romantic or not).

What I found most fascinating about This Savage Song is the monsters. Born from violence, the kind coming into the world depends on the type of violent act commited. Bit by bit Ms. Schwab carefully gives us the relevant background to each kind. Controlled by Kate's father, the Corsai and Machai terrorize the North half of the city while the rarer Sunai reside in the South protected by its leader, August's dad. The truce between the two halves is as fragile as ever as forces make a play for power. Kate and August become pawns in a game but neither is naïve or innocent. It was a dangerous game but they played well.

This Savage Song made my emotions spin. I couldn't put my finger on exactly what I felt for most of the characters. I felt so much. I had warring emotions for the villains. Should I be disgusted by their actions or pity them for the circumstances that made them so? I both loved and hated feeling the unsure.

When the story reached its high point, I was nervous but so excited to see how things would play out. I thought it was clever of Ms. Schwab to exclude a certain piece of information regarding the monsters. A Sunai can absorb another Sunai. The omission caught me off guard. I didn't think much right up until that moment but it is key to the turnout of the story. Was that intentional?

This Savage Song had a satisfying wrap up. At the same time the story very directly shows us there will be more. That makes me happy. Only Victoria Schwab can make one want more monsters. I need more monsters please.

5 Cats
*I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinion are my own and not affected in any way.

14 comments:

  1. Ooh nice! Hearing amazing things about this one and it makes me all the more excited to read it! Cannot wait to work this puppy into my reading queue! Though I thought I heard it was a duology, and lately, at least with this year, I seem to be putting all those duologies on hold until next year! I think I already have 2 that I will need to read...and 1 this year for sure! Lol! Trying to save my sanity a bit by holding off, though I do drive myself crazy at times with wanting to read book 1, but then there are sooo many other books I am still itching to read, I can distract myself easily enough! LOL!

    That got off topic! So sorry! LOL! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol! I get exactly what you're saying! And yep I believe this one is a duology. I couldn't not read it since it's a Victoria Schwab book ;)

      Delete
  2. Ugh, I just love this book so much! I knew that this was going to be interesting but I didn't expect to love it so much! I really like how everything tied together with a nice bow. <3

    Kim @ Divergent Gryffindor: BLOG || VLOG

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely! I'm really looking forward to the sequel :D

      Delete
  3. I'm so very happy to hear you loved it so much!! I still need to read it but hopefully soon!! I need to finish one eARC and then I think I'll allow myself to read it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Read it! I'm here if you want to discuss <3

      Delete
  4. I’ve been seeing so many great reviews of this book. I loved Victoria Schwab’s other books and can’t wait to read this one.

    Aj @ Read All The Things!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've had this book for months now. I am really missing out. Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Read it read it!! This one's her darkest yet but so addictive!

      Delete
  6. I'm so excited to read this book!! I own many of her books but haven't gotten around to them yet. Wonderful review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks Sierra! I can't recommend her books enough! I hope you read one soon ;)

      Delete
  7. I'm relatively new to Victoria's books, but I have to say that I'm properly obsessed now. I just read ADSoM and AGOS and I'm dying to see what book 3 brings us. And TSS was amaaaaaaazing. She's going to be at SDCC this year and now I'm prepared to flail all over her, like she deserves.

    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yessss! More people to fangirl over her with ;) And she's the nicest! I hope you have all the fun at SDCC!

      Delete

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my posts! I read each and every comment I get and will reply as soon as I can :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...