Friday, September 30, 2016

Review: Interference by Kay Honeyman


Interference by Kay Honeyman
Interference
by Kay Honeyman
September 27, 2016
352 pages


Goodreads Summary:
Friday Night Lights meets Jane Austen's Emma in this wonderful novel about a big election, big games, the big state of Texas, and a little romance.

As a Congressman's daughter in Washington, DC, Kate Hamilton is good at getting what she wants -- what some people might call "interfering." But when her family moves to West Texas so her dad can run in a special election, Kate encounters some difficulties that test all her political skills. None of her matchmaking efforts go according to plan. Her father's campaign gets off to a rough start. A pro tip for moving to Texas: Don't slam the star quarterback's hand in a door. And whenever Kate messes up, the irritatingly right (and handsome) Hunter Price is there to witness it. But Kate has determination and a good heart, and with all her political savvy -- and a little clever interference -- she'll figure out what it takes to make Red Dirt home.

Terrifically funny and sweetly romantic, with whip-crack dialogue and a wise perspective on growing up, Interference is the perfect next read for fans of Jenny Han, Huntley Fitzpatrick, Elizabeth Eulberg, or Sarah Dessen.


 
Review

The synopsis of Interference promised sweet and fun and that's exactly what the book delivered. I may have breathed a few sighs at some of the mistakes that were made but they were essential to the plot, making every win worth it.

Interference was a very plot-oriented book. There was a lot more story than I would've expected. Despite the storyline being a familiar one, where one person concocts a plan with the best of intention but said plan backfires ending in more than a couple hurt feelings, I enjoyed the course of development the book took. "It's as much about who they were as who they want to be." (p. 123). Important lessons were learned and people/animals were helped.

Kate's personality came off really strong at the beginning of the story. I was annoyed with her when she acted all pushy and overeager within the first two chapters but I don't dislike her. Her headstrongness was a result of her father's politician status. Her family is under constant scrutiny therefore she's had to learn to act first- take control of the situations first. Through some hard lessons, Kate does learn to back down. It was nice to see her realize her faults. I loved that she's not a quitter and always saw things through.


As the exact opposite of Kate, Hunter Price didn't pay attention to what people thought of him. He couldn't care less and minded his own business. Hunter is smart, caring and hot. He had his own share of problems but he still looked out for Kate (even if she was oblivious to most of it). His grins and those words he spoke to her towards the end of the book about being friends is enough to melt any girl's heart.

It was wonderful to see Kate's family work together. They had their differences but they took care of each other. Kate's made some bad calls but her father stood by her side and surprised her with his support where she most needed it. That's family.

With an emphasis on politics and highlight on football, Interference is a story about letting go of control and looking beyond what others' think. It's an important story I think readers of all age can appreciate.

4 Cats
*I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinion are my own and not affected in any way. All quotes were taken from the Advance Review Copy I received.

2 comments:

  1. Great review! I love political romances and this YA iteration sounds awesome!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! It was a very realistic read :)

      Delete

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my posts! I read each and every comment I get and will reply as soon as I can :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...