Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Review: Little Monsters by Kara Thomas


Little Monsters by Kara Thomas
Little Monsters
by Kara Thomas
July 25, 2017
336 pages


Goodreads Summary:
For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.



Review
 
Holy smokes what did I just read?!? Little Monsters has the hair on the back of my neck standing up. The whole story had me on edge. I've heard Kara Thomas writes the best thrillers and now I've seen it with my own eyes. Be afraid.

Little Monsters weaves a tale of lies and deceit. The story starts off on very neutral grounds but gets darker and more sinister as time went by. The deeper we dug into the backgrounds, the more chills I got. The build up of uncertainties and eerie atmosphere really played a number on my nerves. By the end of the book I was super creeped out. Bravo.

Ms. Thomas does an outstanding job peeling back each character. They were key. There was a lot more to them than meets the eye. Seriously. A. Lot. Chapter by chapter we learn a little more; we get a better look at who or what's at play. As more pieces fell into place the more urgently I felt I needed to see the whole picture. I had theory after theory in my head and while some of my suspicions were right, nothing compared to having the truth laid out in front of me. Somebody hold me.

There was no romance in Little Monsters. In this case it's definitely a plus because there was no room or really any time for distractions. I loved the sibling bond. It was endearing and a source of strength despite the negativity surrounding their relations. In some ways it was also disheartening to see how it was used. Some love can be too all-consuming. Shivers.

I feel like I haven't said much in this review but it's probably for the best. Little Monsters will have you guessing until the very end. It'll have you thinking about it. It'll stay on your mind. Read Little Monsters but be prepared for the chills that's sure to crawl up your spine.

4 Cats
*I received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. All opinion are my own and not affected in any way.

4 comments:

  1. Great review! I liked this one as well. The atmosphere was great and the mystery was twisty and engrossing. I didn't love the characters though. I know what you mean about the author peeling back the layers and how we had to learn more about them I just didn't totally connect with them. Glad to hear you enjoyed this one as well.
    Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay for enjoying this book too! I'm kind of glad you don't relate to them because they were creepy as heck. LOL.

      Delete
  2. Oooh nice!! I still have her The Darkest Corners in my TBR pile that I wanted to read and then I see this one and think I might want it too! But I strive to read at least the first book to a new to me author that I want to read before buying the rest of their collections! LOL! So I better get on that stat! I love a good mystery and if this one is creepy then I am all over it! Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've definitely heard her TDC is a thriller not to be missed. I'm hoping to get to it one day! I look forward to seeing what you think :)

      Delete

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my posts! I read each and every comment I get and will reply as soon as I can :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...