Wednesday, February 14, 2018

WoW #188: An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason by Virginia Boecker


 
Waiting on Wednesday button

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted every week by Breaking the Spine which lets us showcase an upcoming release we are excited about! 


An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason by Virginia BoeckerAn Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason
by Virginia Boecker
September 1, 2018
 pages

Goodreads      Indigo

Goodreads Summary:
Philippa Gregory meets Mr. and Mrs. Smith in this witty and thrilling action-adventure novel of star-crossed assassins in Elizabethan England. Perfect for fans of My Lady Jane and A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue.

When Lady Katherine's father is killed for being an illegally practicing Catholic, she discovers treason wasn't the only secret he's been hiding: he was also involved in a murder plot against the reigning Queen Elizabeth I. With nothing left to lose, Katherine disguises herself as a boy and travels to London to fulfill her father's mission, and to take it one step further--kill the queen herself.

Katherine's opportunity comes in the form of William Shakespeare's newest play, which is to be performed in front of Her Majesty. But what she doesn't know is that the play is not just a play--it's a plot to root out insurrectionists and destroy the rebellion once and for all.

The mastermind behind this ruse is Toby Ellis, a young spy for the queen with secrets of his own. When Toby and Katherine are cast opposite each other as the play's leads, they find themselves inexplicably drawn to one another. But the closer they grow, the more precarious their positions become. And soon they learn that star-crossed love, mistaken identity, and betrayal are far more dangerous off the stage than on.
 
I have been waiting for more from Virginia Boecker ever since her Witch Hunter duology ended. FINALLY! Yesssssss! (I'm not particularly fond of the cover but it definitely has a Shakespeare-y feel to it.)

What are you guys waiting on this week?

5 comments:

  1. I still need to read the first book. I have it in my shelves.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's wonderful and so exciting! I hope you love it!

      Delete
  2. Yeah, the cover isn't wowing me too much. But like you I've been wondering what Virginia was up to after The Witch Hunter ended! Adding this to my list asap!

    Here's my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Woot woot! So happy we're finally getting something more!!

      Delete
  3. Somehow I missed the cover for this, it sounds great!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting my blog and reading my posts! I read each and every comment I get and will reply as soon as I can :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...